07.30.03 | 8:10 p.m.

I was just informed that I was being taken to dinner, which is always a welcome gesture. Only, I can't seem to think of a darn thing I feel like eating at the moment. Yes, it's things like this that makeup the real issues complicating my life. At least for the moment, anyway.

Which brings me to a conversation I had last weekend with a woman who works as a nurse. She was telling me about how her new condo she lived in wasn't completely 'finished ' -- as in, the kitchen had no running water or countertops. My response: "Oh, you must be eating a lot of takeout these days." She smiled nicely, leaned over, and said to me in a tone that implied some sort of intimacy, "Actually, I have just been eating a lot of patient trays at the hospital."

It's amazing how a single comment can speak such volumes about a person.