08.19.03 | 7:35 p.m.

I just learned the importance of knowing how to read.

This is sad, given that I am am editor by profession.

Here I am somewhere mid-process of tryimg to unfuck the blueberry pie I have baking in the oven. I am also learning that baking a pie in 85 degree evening heat is a true sauna-like experience. Back to the pie. It seems the abbreviations for tbs and tsp escaped me in the mixing process. I also had some sort of delusional spell when it came time to reading how many cups of blueberries to put in the filling. Two cups is kind of close to four cups, right? Needless to say, I just spent a good 20 minutes hand stuffing individual blueberries in-between my beautiful top-crust lattice work. Now all that's left to do is pray.

p.s. It looks and smells wonderful, so at least the pie has got that going for it. But, oh, how I know that looks can be deceiving.