09.03.03 | 10:35 a.m.

You've Got Mail! And Lots of it, Baby

Yesterday, one of my coworkers opened her office email to find 5,000 messages waiting for her in your inbox. Yes, you read correctly, 5,000 emails. Now I don't know where you work, but that's a whole lot of junk mail to have to spend the time deleting.

She, naturally, contacted our company's self proclaimed "Information Systems Lead" to remedy this problem. His response: What do you want me to do? Make it so no one can send you emails?

Then, low and behold, following an email-less afternoon this message was delivered from the anti-powerful, self proclaimed "Information Systems Lead."

Greetings,

Our email server is being somewhat over-loaded (during business hours) due to the high volume of email the internet is experiencing.

We are purchasing additional memory for our email server, and expect ADHA's email service to be back to normal by the end of the week.

If you are experiencing spotty email delivery, please note that I'm aware of the situation and hope to have everything back to its normal working routine very shortly.

Signed,

self proclaimed "Information Systems Lead"

Now, I wonder, is getting a larger capacity to trap all this spam mail really a solution? And while I'm nitpicking, just what in the Lord's name does "spotty email delivery" mean? And why is that wording making me cringe?

Alas, I must return to the never ending job of selecting and deleting my incoming mail.