10.28.03 | 4:01 p.m.

I am now eating Combos. I know in my heart and soul that Combos are a kind of dated snack that leans more toward the nasty than the tasty. Regardless, they are in front of me and I am eating them.

I am also trying to convince myself to stop spending money that I do not have. To do this, I must swear off such places such as, say, Target.

Sure, Target looks all innocent and fun on the outside with its clever red trademarked rings... and even on the inside there is no sense of "hold me back because I am about to BUY EVERYTHING IN SIGHT." But it's there, people. Oh yes. You may think you're heading in for some shampoo, laundry detergent, and possibly a simple sweater, but you tell yourself that is only if there's one you like on sale. A couple hundred dollars later, you're outside feeding the trunk of your car countless plastic bulls eye bags stuffed with mittens, dog brushes, photo albums, new kinds of lotion... and shampoo, laundry detergent, and a sweater. And you wonder why you can't pay your bills...

So, needless to say, in my effort to not spend this month, I have overdone it by about $500. Again.

And this my friends is why I will never own "anything of significance" as dictated by my father. No fancy car. No condo. No timeshare in the Hamptons. No diamonds. No pearls. No designer handbags. No nothing.

But have you seen my new photo album? It's damn cute. And it only cost $7.99!