12.14.04 | 3:15 p.m.

Music Photos 101

My friend would like it noted that this photo follows the general rules of band/music album covers and/or promotional photos.

By that, he means:

RAP ARTIST: I am very rich, very sexually active, and/or very tough. This shall become evident to you by way of the assortment of expensive automobiles, snarling pit bulls, and bikini-clad females featured behind me. My name is also presented in a jewel-encrusted font.

HEAVY METAL ARTIST: I am sexually ambiguous, but also very sexy.

ALTERNATIVE ARTIST: I am emotionless and perhaps not even looking at the camera. One of us is also showing our displeasure with corporate rock by flicking off the camera.

INDEPENDENT ARTIST: Here is a photo of an inanimate object or an old, broken-down building.

LOCAL ROCK BAND: We are hanging out near train tracks or in front of a brick wall.

COUNTRY ARTIST: I got a really good deal on this airbrushed glamour shot at the mall of me hugging my guitar.

FEMALE POP SENSATION: I got a really good deal on this airbrushed glamour shot at the mall of my hair blowing in the wind while wearing a skimpy outfit.

PHIL COLLINS: Here is another album cover that consists of a close-up shot of my face.

***
p.s. Yesterday the radio in my office turned on, on its very own. My watch also stopped. And today I managed to kill a microwave by walking into a room while it was doing its thing and then having it just shut off � mid warming my soup, nonetheless. I suppose that means my telekinetic powers have finally matured and my mom really is an alien. Her skin does have the tendency to eat through metal � it�s true. She�s gone through three bands on her engagement ring already and about 10 years ago her dentist discovered a large, unexplainable mass of metal in her head.