08.06.03 | 1:48 p.m.

While watching "Queer Eye for the Straight Guy" on Bravo last night, my boyfriend turned to me and in all seriousness asked: "How do they know all this stuff?" It was truly baffling to him how this group of gay men had amassed tons of useful knowledge on subjects such as grooming, pop culture, film, cooking, etc. "It's their job," I told him, meaning that these particular men were paid money to know more than the average person on subjects such as how to get your bathtub fixtures to sparkle. He just nodded in a way that said, "I just don't 'get it'." "Not all gay men are like these particular five," I added. Again, I was met with a curious stare. I suppose he was waiting for me to tell him about the top secret cult meetings all gay men are required to attend so that they can learn to excel at all things straight men have no clue about. Perhaps.