09.22.03 | 2:21 p.m.

I ran across this nugget in a transcript I was editing this afternoon:

"A friend of mine recently shared this little bit of folk wisdom. He said, 'Even a blind squirrel finds the occasional nut.' I definitely was a blind squirrel who stumbled across the nut."

My reaction: Anyone brave enough to refer to themselves as a blind squirrel looking for a snack to a room full of their distinguished peers is a person that really is blind to life's nuts. That, and folksy analogies involving vision-impaired squirrels and nuts truly are the ones worth savoring.

The woman then goes on to describe the "Blind-Squirrel Effect" with examples of her stumbling onto all kinds of "nuts."

Let's call that the BSE effect for now. I would be curious to hear others BSE experiences...

Bueller... Bueller...