03.08.04 | 2:08 p.m.

Urban Grocery Experience

Now I don't expect to be chatted up at the checkout line, and I especially loathe when the cashier eyeballs and comments on my purchases, but the urban grocery experience I had this afternoon sort of left me going "oh, hell no."

While the checkout person talked freely to the bagger about her friend's kids having sex, thankfully, she never stopped to acknowledge that I was there, in front of her, buying the items she was scanning.

Anyway, it went a little something like this:

"Yeah, well he got her pregnant. I know, I know they is like 13 years old. But my friend knew they was having sex, she just didn't know that her girl had gotten her period yet until she got pregnant. You know? So her friend, who's a prositute, told them kids that they need to be using condoms. They didn't know. You know?"